Tracys Tantrums

Alternative Thought Provoking Issues of the Day

Pigeons, Rabbits & Slugs Down on the Allotment

I was recently allocated an allotment.  After many hours of digging, weeding and planting, with smug satisfaction of transforming a blank canvas into a kitchen garden I went home exhausted.

I returned two days later only to find my allotment has been ravaged by wildlife.  Even the netted brassica’s have not escaped as there seems to be an abundance of slugs.  A lot more hard work required.

The difference with my garden at home and the allotment are chalk and cheese.

©tracystantrums June 2012

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Pigeons, Rabbits & Slugs Down on the Allotment

  1. The trouble with allotments is that they are a source of huge amounts of yummy food for the local wildlife! I hope that you will be able to get yours under control and find a range of ways to deal with them…the answer with slugs seems to be not to rely on a single method… employ traps, hunting, diversionary tactics, barriers and (my favourite) chickens, although on an allotment the last one my not be an option. Good luck!

    • This is my first year in allotmenting and everything will be trial and error, but I am determined not to follow other gardeners on site who use slug pellets. I am going to try porridge oats as slugs love them, but then die. I heard this on Jeremy Vine’s show last week. My ideal aim would be to look after two rescue hedgehogs who are unable to be released into the wild, however my site would have to be totally secure. I love the idea of chickens, our site has allowed a beehive so who knows what can be achieved in the future.

Leave a comment